Retrospectives 2017

Partners

Dr. Dieter Zetsche | Chairman of  the Board of Management of Daimler AG and Head Mercedes-Benz Cars
Daimler AG is one of the world’s most successful automotive companies. With its divisions Mercedes-Benz Cars, Daimler Trucks, Mercedes-Benz Vans, Daimler Buses and Daimler Financial Services, the Daimler Group is one of the biggest producers of premium cars and the world’s biggest manufacturer of commercial vehicles with a global reach. Daimler Financial Services provides financing, leasing, fleet management, insurance, financial investments, credit cards, and innovative mobility services.
Prof. Dr. Martin Plendl | CEO of Deloitte Germany
Deloitte is the leading professional services firm worldwide. Deloitte provides innovative services to help its clients stay competitive and grow sustainably. This is based on a multidisciplinary business model which covers Audit, Risk Advisory, Tax and Legal, Financial Advisory and Consulting. Deloitte brings together people with diverse skills and experiences, promotes their talents, and creates an environment in which they can thrive. Deloitte’s more than 244,000 professionals are committed to making an impact that matters.
Joe Kaeser | CEO of Siemens AG
Siemens is a global technology powerhouse. Founded in 1847, the company is active in more than 200 countries, focusing on the areas of electrification, automation and digitalization. Its world-leading product offering includes efficient power generation and power transmission solutions; infrastructure technologies; automation, drive and software solutions for industry; as well as healthcare technologies. In fiscal 2016, Siemens employed 351,000 people worldwide and generated €79.6 billion in revenue. Further information on the company is available on the Internet at www.siemens.com.
Dr. Jens Baas | CEO of Techniker Krankenkasse
The Techniker Krankenkasse (TK) is considered the most modern and efficient health insurance fund in Germany. It represents the interests of ten million insurants and is committed to a high-performing, financially sustainable, and competitively based health care system. Their customers are ensured access to high-quality and innovative medical care and coverage. In addition, the TK consistently relies on new digital means to improve the supply and quality of services – all while operating on a non-profit basis.
Dr. Hannes Ametsreiter | CEO of Vodafone Germany
Vodafone Germany is a leading integrated telecommunications company offering fixed broadband, mobile communications, internet and TV services. The company’s continuous investments in faster fixed and mobile networks are taking Germany forward into the gigabit society. Vodafone offers a comprehensive ICT portfolio for enterprise customers, networking people and machines as well as facilitating secure corporate networks. Vodafone Germany generates annual revenue of € 11 billion with 43.7 million SIM cards, 6.1 million fixed broadband customers and numerous digital solutions.
Ralph Dommermuth | Founder of the network “Wir zusammen” Integrations-Initiativen der Deutschen Wirtschaft
“Wir zusammen” is a platform where German businesses share their integration projects, with the aim of building a network of members who are dedicated long-term to the issue of integration. The businesses involved run their own integration projects funded by compulsory sponsorship. The website www.wir-zusammen.de serves as a joint platform where more than 180 German businesses present their integration projects.

Speaker

Robert Böhme | CEO of Part-Time-Scientists (PTScientists) GmbH and Leader of “Mission to the Moon”
8 years ago Robert Böhme launched PTScientists, the private space initiative which brings together international scientists and engineers from all fields to achieve the first private moon mission. The mission`s goal is, to return 45 years later to the famous Apollo 17 landing site of the Apollo Space Program, and the last manned lunar mission. Within the scope and framework of the Google Lunar XPRIZE competition, the team behind the mission has already won several technological development awards. As an IT security specialist, Böhme has been advising the federal government and large industrial companies on security issues since he was 18 years old.
Julia Engelmann | Pop-poet and voice of her generation
Five minutes, she needed less time than that, to capture the attention of over a million viewers with her verses in roughly 2014. Since then, this multi-talent has become the most successful German slam poet, to date. She has published three books, all of which have been on Spiegel Magazine`s bestseller list, while pursuing her passion for music and talent for acting. Julia Engelmann has the uncanny ability to continually bring her audience to the edge of laughter, while simultaneously moving them to tears. Her unwavering message is: Live your dreams! Now, baby!

Image: © Marta Urbanelis Photography

Dr. Erich Ritter | Biologist and shark behaviorist
Dr. Erich Ritter, is the world’s leading experimental shark behaviorist on shark-human interaction, communication and body language. His face-to-face interaction with white sharks, tigers, bulls and other large species underlines his motto: “…there are no dangerous sharks – but dangerous situations…“ Based on his work, he developed ADORE-SANE, the shark-human interaction concept which allows everybody to safely encounter a shark in any given situation. It enables to pinpoint in no time, the probable intention of the animal and the relevant factors influencing the situation. Dr. Ritter’s scientific work, training, books and documentaries have made a lasting contribution to the change of mind towards sharks.
Nico Rosberg | Former Formula One (F1) racing driver and current F1 World Champion
Nico Rosberg had already discovered his passion for motorsport at the age of six, was racing in Formula BMW at 17, and won his first Formula 1 Grand Prix in 2012. The highlight of his career was in 2016, when he won the World Championship and became the third German Formula 1 world champion. Upon winning this title, he decided to bring his career to an end. Nico Rosberg achieved a total of 23 Grand Prix victories, including the most prestigious Monaco Grand Prix three times, and competed in more than 200 Formula 1 races.
Image: © Paul Ripke for Hugo Boss
Dr. Julia Shaw | Memory Hacker, Criminal Psychologist & Senior Lecturer in Criminology at London South Bank University
Dr. Julia Shaw is a psychological scientist who conducts research on memory errors and identity. Her groundbreaking study, where she successfully convinced people that they committed crimes that never happened, catapulted her overnight from young scientist to memory expert heavyweight. She works with lawyers, police, and military, and applies her work to business settings. She is often featured as an expert on TV, news, and radio, and is a regular contributor to Scientific American and Der Spiegel. Her debut non-fiction book “The Memory Illusion. Remembering, Forgetting, and the Science of False Memory” is an international bestseller.
Gelong Thubten | Buddhist monk, lecturer and charity director
Gelong Thubten studied English Literature at Oxford, and became a Buddhist monk 24 years ago at Kagyu Samye Ling in Scotland. Thubten teaches on mindfulness internationally. He has spent over five years in intensive meditation retreats and specialises in teaching in secular situations such as businesses, hospitals, schools, universities, prisons and addiction counselling centres. He was the mindfulness consultant on the set of Marvel’s latest movie, Dr. Strange, where he trained Benedict Cumberbatch and Tilda Swinton in mindfulness techniques while they were filming. He has lectured on Buddhism and meditation at the universities of Oxford, Helsinki and Cardiff, and teaches in several schools.
Richard van Hooijdonk | Trend watcher and futurist
Richard van Hooijdonk is trend watcher, futurist and an international keynote speaker. He investigates with his international research team trends like robotics, drone technology, autonomous transport systems, Internet of Things, biotech, nanotech, neurotech, blockchain, 3D and 4D printing and of course augmented and virtual reality and their impact on various industries. He started his career as marketing director at banks, publishing companies and technology companies where he held strategic advisory positions, was part of management teams and sat on various boards of directors.

Moderators

Sven Afhüppe | Editor-in-Chief of Handelsblatt
Sven Afhüppe studied economics at the University of Münster and later graduated from the Georg von Holtzbrinck School for Economic Journalism. He started his career in 1999 as a capital correspondent for Wirtschaftswoche and in 2004 continued on in the same position at SPIEGEL. He joined Handelsblatt´s Berlin office in 2006, and since January 2015 has been Editor-in-Chief of Handelsblatt in Dusseldorf.
Ina Karabasz | Editor at Handelsblatt
While still a teenager, she read a book about a female journalist – and decided to become one herself. Since January 2013, Ina Karabasz has been working as a journalist for Handelsblatt. She currently writes mainly about telecommunication and is looking forward to observing digitization from the inside. Before joining Handelsblatt, she was a student at the Georg von Holtzbrinck School for Business Journalists. She was a freelance journalist for the Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger for several years, and spent one year reporting for the newspaper from South Africa.
Andreas Kluth | Editor-in-Chief of Handelsblatt Global
Since March of this year, Andreas Kluth has been Editor-in-Chief of Handelsblatt Global, the English-language news site of the Handelsblatt Group. Before that, he was for 20 years a correspondent for The Economist – in London, Hong Kong, Silicon Valley, Los Angeles, and Berlin. Andreas was born in New York. He got his Bachelor’s at Williams College in Massachusetts and his Master’s at the London School of Economics. He has written a book, “Hannibal and Me”, about lessons of historical figures for our own lives in coping with failure and success.
Dr. Miriam Meckel | Publisher of WirtschaftsWoche
Dr. Miriam Meckel was appointed Publisher of WirtschaftsWoche in April 2017, before which she headed the business magazine as Editor-in-Chief for three years. After studying Communication and Political Science as well as Sinology, she worked as a TV journalist for the WDR, RTL and Vox television stations before becoming Professor of Journalism at the University of Münster. She then spent five years as government spokesperson and State Secretary for Media, Europe and International Affairs under the Prime Minister of North Rhine-Westphalia before returning to the academic world as Professor of Media and Communication Management at the University of St. Gallen in Switzerland. She has authored numerous scientific and non-fiction books.
Gabor Steingart | Publisher of Handelsblatt
Since January 1, 2013, Gabor Steingart has been the Chairman of the Handelsblatt Publishing Group Management Board and Publisher of Handelsblatt. Prior to this appointment, he spent three years as the editor-in-chief of Handelsblatt, Germany’s largest economic and financial newspaper. Before joining Handelsblatt, he spent 20 years as a journalist for Der Spiegel magazine in Bonn, Berlin, Hamburg, and Washington, DC. Gabor Steingart is also the author of several best-sellers.
Aline von Drateln | Presentor SKY-Germany
Grown up in a TV-less hippie-household in Hamburg, Aline von Drateln first studied law for four years while working for print medias at the same time, which was her original aim. At a press conference her talent for the Screen was noticed and only one week later she got her first TV-Job.

Do you have specific questions or would you like to talk to us in person? Then feel free to contact us. We’ll be happy to provide you with information and advice.
You can reach us by phone on +49 (0)211 887 1342 or by mail at pathfinder-team@handelsblatt.com

Rückblick auf 2017

Die Zukuntsförderer

Dr. Dieter Zetsche | Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der Daimler AG und Leiter Mercedes-Benz Cars
Die Daimler AG ist eines der erfolgreichsten Automobilunternehmen der Welt. Mit den Geschäftsfeldern Mercedes-Benz Cars. Daimler Trucks, Mercedes-Benz Vans, Daimler Buses und Daimler Financial Services gehört der Fahrzeughersteller zu den größten Anbietern von Premium-PKW und ist der größte weltweit aufgestellte Nutzfahrzeug-Hersteller. Daimler Financial Services bietet Finanzierung, Leasing, Flottenmanagement, Versicherungen, Geldanlagen und Kreditkarten sowie innovative Mobilitätsdiensteilstungen an.
Prof. Dr. Martin Plendl | CEO Deloitte Deutschland
Deloitte ist die führende Professional Services Firm weltweit. Das Unternehmen investiert in Ideen und Technologien, die Fortschritt vorantreiben. Mit innovativen Services hilft Deloitte seinen Kunden, wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben und nachhaltig zu wachsen. Grundlage ist das multidisziplinäre Geschäftsmodell aus Wirtschaftsprüfung, Risk Advisory, Steuer- und Rechtsberatung, Financial Advisory und Consulting. Deloitte bringt Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen zusammen, fördert ihre Talente und schafft ein Umfeld, in dem sie sich entwickeln können. Making an impact that matters – für 244.000 Mitarbeiter ist dies gemeinsames Leitbild und individueller Anspruch zugleich.
Joe Kaeser | CEO Siemens AG
Siemens ist ein weltweit tätiges Unternehmen mit dem Fokus auf Elektrifizierung, Automatisierung und Digitalisierung. Als einer der größten Anbieter energieeffizienter, ressourcenschonender Technologien ist Siemens führend bei Systemen für die Energieerzeugung und -übertragung sowie die medizinische Diagnose. Bei Lösungen für Infrastruktur und Industrie nimmt das Unternehmen eine Vorreiterrolle ein. In mehr als 200 Ländern waren zum 30. September 2015 rund 348.000 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt. Sie erwirtschafteten im Geschäftsjahr 2015 Umsatzerlöse von 75,6 Mrd. Euro.
Dr. Jens Baas | Vorstandsvorsitzender der Techniker Krankenkasse
Die Techniker Krankenkasse gilt als modernste und leistungsfähige Krankenkasse in Deutschland. Sie vertritt die Interessen von zehn Millionen Versicherten und setzt sich für ein leistungsstarkes, nachhaltig finanzierbares und auf Wettbewerb basierendes Gesundheitssystem ein. Ihren Kunden gewährleistet sie den Zugang zu qualitativ hochwertiger medizinischer Versorgung und Innovation. Die TK setzt dabei auch konsequent auf neue digitale Möglichkeiten, um die Versorgungs- und Servicequalität zu verbessern – dabei arbeitet sie nicht gewinnorientiert.
Dr. Hannes Ametsreiter | CEO Vodafone Deutschland
Vodafone Deutschland ist eines der führenden integrierten Telekommunikationsunternehmen. Als Gigabit Company treibt Vodafone den Infrastrukturausbau in Deutschland federführend voran: Mit immer schnelleren Netzen ebnet Vodafone den Weg in die Gigabit-Gesellschaft – ob im Festnetz oder im Mobilfunk. Geschäftskunden bieten die Düsseldorfer ein breites ICT-Portfolio: So vernetzt Vodafone Menschen und Maschinen, sichert Firmen-Netzwerke sowie Kommunikation und speichert Daten für Firmen in der deutschen Cloud. Mit 43,7 Millionen Mobilfunk-Karten, 6,1 Millionen Festnetz-Breitband-Kunden sowie zahlreichen digitalen Lösungen erwirtschaftet Vodafone Deutschland einen Jahresumsatz von € 11 Milliarden.
Ralph Dommermuth | Gründer des Netzwerks „Wir zusammen“ Integrations-Initiativen der Deutschen Wirtschaft
„Wir zusammen“ bündelt die Integrations-Initiativen der deutschen Wirtschaft zu einem Netzwerk, dessen Mitglieder sich dauerhaft dem Thema Integration widmen und dieses vorantreiben. Dazu führen die teilnehmenden Unternehmen eigenständige Integrationsprojekte durch und untermauern diese mit verbindlichen Patenschaften. Als gemeinsame Plattform der über 180 Unternehmen dient die Website www.wir-zusammen.de.

Die Vordenker

Robert Böhme | Geschäftsführer der PTScientists und Leiter der “Mission to the Moon”
Vor 8 Jahren rief Robert Böhme die private Weltrauminitiative PTScientists ins Leben welche international Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure aus allen Bereichen zur Durchführung der ersten privaten Mondmission vereint. Das Ziel der Mission ist nach über 45 Jahren die Rückkehr zu Apollo 17 der berühmten letzten Landestelle des Apollo Programmes. Im Rahmen des Google Lunar XPRIZE Wettbewerbes konnte das Team hinter der Mission bereits mehrere Awards für die entwickelte Technologie gewinnen. Als IT Sicherheitsspezialist berät er seit seinem 18. Lebensjahr die Bundesregierung und Groß Industrieunternehmen in Sicherheitsfragen.
Julia Engelmann | Pop-Poetin und Stimme ihrer Generation
Fünf Minuten – mehr Zeit hat Sie nicht gebraucht, um 2014 ein Millionenpublikum für sich und ihre Texte zu begeistern. Inzwischen ist das Multitalent die erfolgreichste deutsche Poetry-Slammerin. Drei Bücher hat sie veröffentlicht, jedes davon war auf der Spiegel Bestsellerliste. Neben dem Slammen gilt ihre Leidenschaft der Musik und der Schauspielerei. Julia Engelmann bringt ihr Publikum immer wieder zum Lachen und rührt es gleichzeitig zu Tränen. Ihre ungebrochene Message lautet: Träume zu leben! Jetzt, Baby!
Bild: © Marta Urbanelis Photography
Dr. Erich Ritter | Haiverhaltensforscher
Dr. Erich Ritter ist der weltweit führende experimentelle Haiverhaltensforscher auf dem Gebiet der Hai-Mensch Interaktion, Kommunikation und Körpersprache. Seine direkten Begegnungen mit weißen Haien, Tigerhaien, Bullenhaien und anderen Großhaiarten bestätigt seit jeher seine Devise: „es gibt keine gefährlichen Haie – nur gefährliche Situationen“. Auf ihr basierend hat er sein Interaktionskonzept ADORE-SANE entwickelt, das jedermann in wenigen Augenblicken eine sichere Hai-Begegnung ermöglicht, unabhängig der Situation, in der sich eine Person befindet. Es lehrt, in wenigen Augenblicken die wahrscheinliche Absicht des Tieres und die maßgeblichen Faktoren der Situation einzuschätzen und sinnvoll darauf zu reagieren. Dr. Ritters wissenschaftliche Arbeiten, Trainings, Bücher und Filme haben nachhaltig zur Änderung der Einstellung gegenüber Haien beigetragen.
Nico Rosberg | Formel-1 Weltmeister
Nico Rosberg entdeckte bereits mit sechs Jahren seine Liebe zum Motorsport, hatte mit 17 Jahren bereits ein Cockpit in der Formel BMW und gewann 2012 seinen ersten Grand Prix in der Formel 1. 2016 krönte er seine Karriere mit dem Gewinn der Weltmeisterschaft und ist damit der dritte deutsche Formel-1 Weltmeister. Mit diesem Titel beendete er auch seine Karriere. Insgesamt konnte er 23 Grand-Prix-Siege einfahren, er gewann dreimal das prestigeträchtigste Rennen in Monaco, und ist insgesamt mehr als 200 Mal in der Formel 1 gestartet.
Bild: © Paul Ripke für Hugo Boss
Dr. Julia Shaw | Gedächtnisforscherin und Rechtspsychologin an der London South Bank Universität
Dr. Julia Shaw gehört zu den führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen auf dem Gebiet der Pseudoerinnerungen. Ihre bahnbrechende “False Memory”- Studie, bei der sie 70% ihrer Probanden über suggestive Fragemethoden ein falsches Gedächtnis einpflanzte, machte sie über Nacht als junge Wissenschaftlerin zum Shooting Star. Sie berät Polizei, Bundeswehr und Rechtsanwälte bezüglich ihrer Befragungsmethoden. Ihr Sachbuch-Debüt “Das trügerische Gedächtnis. Wie unser Gehirn Erinnerungen fälscht” wurde international zum Bestseller.
Gelong Thubten | Buddhistischer Mönch, Dozent und Charity Director
Gelong Thubten lebt in Kagyu Samye Ling, dem ältesten und größten tibetanischen Kloster des Westens in Schottland. Er lehrt Meditation und Achtsamkeit im religionsfreien Kontext in internationalen Unternehmen und Organisationen. Auch Krankenhäuser, Schulen, Gefängnisse und Suchtkliniken greifen auf seine Erfahrungen im „Stress Management“ zurück. Er gehört zu den führenden Vertretern für Meditationstrainings weltweit und hilft seinen Kunden, im schnelllebigen Informationszeitalter nicht den Überblick zu verlieren.
Richard van Hooijdonk | Trendexperte und Futurist
Richard van Hooijdonk ist Trendexperte, Futurist und internationaler Keynote-Speaker. Er forscht mit seinem internationalen Team in den Bereichen Robotik, Drohnentechnologie, autonome Transportsysteme, Internet der Dinge, Biotechnologie, Nanotechnologie, Neurotechnologie, Blockchain, 3D- und 4D-Druck sowie Augmented und Virtual Reality und deren Einfluss auf verschiedene Industrien. Er begann seine Karriere als Marketing Direktor in Banken, Verlagsunternehmen und Technologiekonzernen, in denen er als strategischer Berater gearbeitet hat, Teil des Managementteams war und in verschiedenen Verwaltungsräten gesessen hat.

Die Moderatoren

Sven Afhüppe | Chefredakteur Handelsblatt
Sven Afhüppe hat Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Münster studiert und danach die Georg von Holtzbrinck-Schule für Wirtschaftsjournalisten absolviert. Er startete seine Karriere 1999 als Hauptstadtkorrespondent für die WirtschaftsWoche. Ab 2004 war er in gleicher Position beim SPIEGEL tätig, bevor er 2006 ins Berliner Büro des Handelsblatts wechselte. Seit Januar 2015 ist er Chefredakteur des Handelsblatts in Düsseldorf.
Ina Karabasz | Redakteurin Ressort Unternehmen und Märkte Handelsblatt
Sie hat als Jugendliche ein Buch über eine Journalistin gelesen und beschlossen, selber eine zu werden. Seit Januar 2013 ist Ina Karabasz Redakteurin beim Handelsblatt, schreibt derzeit hauptsächlich über Telekommunikation und freut sich, damit die Digitalisierung im deren Zentrum beobachten zu können. Zuvor war sie Volontärin an der Georg von Holtzbrinck-Schule für Wirtschaftsjournalisten. Mehrere Jahre arbeitete sie frei für den Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger, davon ein Jahr lang aus Südafrika.
Andreas Kluth | Chefredakteur Handelsblatt Global
Seit März ist Andreas Kluth Chefredakteur von Handelsblatt Global, dem Englisch-sprachigen Teil der Handelsblatt Gruppe. Davor war er 20 Jahre lang Korrespondent für The Economist – in London, Hong Kong, Silicon Valley, Los Angeles und Berlin. Er ist gebürtiger New Yorker. Seinen Bachelor hat er am Williams College in Massachusetts, seinen Master an der London School of Economics absolviert. Er ist Autor von “Hannibal and Me”.
Dr. Miriam Meckel | Herausgeberin der WirtschaftsWoche
Dr. Miriam Meckel ist seit April 2017 Herausgeberin der WirtschaftsWoche. Zuvor hat sie das Magazin drei Jahre als Chefredakteurin geführt. Die studierte Kommunikations- und Politikwissenschaftlerin sowie Sinologin startete als Fernsehjournalistin bei WDR, RTL und Vox, bevor sie eine Professur für Journalistik an der Universität Münster übernahm. Meckel war danach fünf Jahre Regierungssprecherin und Staatssekretärin für Medien, Europa und Internationales beim Ministerpräsidenten in Nordrhein-Westfalen und wechselte dann zurück in die Wissenschaft als Professorin für Medien- und Kommunikationsmanagement der Universität St. Gallen, Schweiz. Sie ist Autorin zahlreicher Wissenschafts- und Sachbücher.
Gabor Steingart | Herausgeber Handelsblatt
Gabor Steingart ist seit dem 1. Januar 2013 Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Verlagsgruppe Handelsblatt und Herausgeber des Handelsblatts. Zuvor war er drei Jahre Chefredakteur von Deutschlands größter Wirtschafts- und Finanzzeitung und davor 20 Jahre Spiegel-Journalist in Bonn, Berlin, Hamburg und Washington. Gabor Steingart ist Autor verschiedener Bestseller.
Aline von Drateln | Moderatorin SKY-Deutschland
Aline von Drateln, aufgewachsen in einem Hamburger Hippie-Haushalt ohne Fernseher, studierte die ersten vier Jahre ihrer Karriere Jura. Gleichzeitig arbeitete Sie für verschiedene Printmedien, was ihrem eigentlichen Karrierewunsch entsprach. Bei einer Pressekonferenz fiel ihr Talent für den Bildschirm auf und nur eine Woche später bekam Aline ihren ersten Job beim Fernsehen.

Sie haben konkrete Fragen oder möchten mit uns persönlich sprechen? Kontaktieren Sie uns. Gerne stehen wir Ihnen für Rückfragen oder Wünsche zur Verfügung. Sie erreichen uns telefonisch unter 0211 / 887 1342
oder per Mail an pathfinder-team@handelsblatt.com